Can a sex offender be around children?
Once the offender has registered with the appropriate county sheriff, the registration information is updated in the statewide Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry by the registering county sheriff.
Sex offender registration information is available on a searchable website maintained by The North Carolina Department of Justice Division of Criminal Statistics.
If the person moves to North Carolina from outside this State, the person shall register within 3 days of establishing residence in this State, or whenever the person has been present in the State for 15 days, whichever comes first.Can a sex offender live near children?The Sex Offender Section registers; confirms addresses of registered offenders saken dating byrå and arrests and prosecutes those offenders in violation of North Carolina General Statutes.The accuracy of these statistics may be impacted by certain limitations such as delays or errors in processing information or delay or errors in the systems operation.View the North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registration Program in its entirety here.Click the link below for more information.The Guilford County Sheriffs Office Sex Offender Registration Section registers all sex offenders that live in Guilford County that are required to register by North Carolina Law.Not all offenders are included in this report because of different registration requirements.You can contact our office or Crimestoppers.Registrants must furnish the following information: name, sex, address, physical description, picture, conviction date, offense for which registration was required, the sentence imposed as a result of the conviction, and registration status.Immediately upon conviction for a reportable offense where an active term of imprisonment was not imposed on or after January 1, 1996.If the reportable offender does not register with the county sheriff within the required time period, the statewide system will flag the record as a "Failure to Register" which assists law enforcement officials in tracking and requiring offenders to register.How do I report a possible registration violation?
Statistics reflected on this page have been extracted from information entered by North Carolina Sheriffs Offices into the NC Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry database.The law states a sex offender cannot live within 1000 feet of a school or daycare.These are defined in NC law as places children frequently congregate which sex offenders are not allowed.If the person is a current resident of North Carolina, the person shall register: Within 3 days of release from a penal institution or arrival in a county to live outside a penal institution on or after January 1, 1996;.It also prevents them from going to certain places where children frequently congregate, parks, and school property.Can I be notified if a sex offender moves into my neighborhood?The North Carolina Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry was established in January 1996 due to the enactment of Article 27A of Chapter 14 of the North Carolina General Statutes (ncgs 14-208.5).These statistics provide approximate numbers.
Offenders whose status is listed as pending are not included in this report.